All water and/or sewer drain and/or sewer drain and vent plumbing (major, repair, additions, and new construction) must be permitted and shall be inspected by licensed inspectors of the Arkansas Department of Health and Human Services. (See 106.1 and 107.1 Arkansas State Plumbing Code)
The person doing the work shall have a master plumber license, journeyman license, or a limited plumber license, or a special plumber license for the State of Arkansas. Be sure to check your plumber’s license. There may be those coming through the neighborhood who are not licensed that want to install waterlines. A homeowner may do the work at his home where he is living; but he must do the work himself and it must pass inspection. We recommend that you get a copy of the Arkansas State Plumbing Code from the Arkansas Department of Health and Human Services if you elect to do your work. Anyone can dig the ditch, but the person installing the piping must meet the requirements above to comply with the Arkansas Plumbing Law.
Check that piping meet the requirements of the Arkansas State Plumbing Code. It shall be permanently marked, and be approved by the administrative authority. It must be at least 160 PSI, or better. See 605.3 and 605.4. in the Arkansas State Plumbing Code.
Check the size of pipe. It can not be less than ¾”. The number of fixtures to be
served and length of the service line shall be used to determine size, according
to plumbing code. See 603.1 and tables 604.3-
Check the depth of pipe. In the Central part of the State, it should not be less than 18 inches. Pipe shall be bedded in clean dirt or sand. Rocks have a tendency to work through pipe, especially plastic, due to expansion and contraction so this should be part of the inspection.
A shut off valve shall be installed at or near the entrance to the building, as well as at the meter. Your shut off valve should be a gate or ball type valve. This valve shall be accessible, either in a box or sleeve brought to ground level. See 606.1 in the Arkansas State Plumbing Code.
The pressure in the city mains exceed 80 lbs. There shall be a pressure reducing valve installed in the service line. This is usually put near the shut off valve or near the meter. See 604.8 Arkansas State Plumbing Code.
Inspectors must see that there is no connection between the public water and private sources. A system of valves does not constitute a separation. There must be a physical separation. If the homeowner wants to continue using a private source for some purpose, it must be a separate system. This is to protect the Public System from possible contamination.
The inspector should see the service line in its entirety, before any part is covered, to check depth, type of material, etc. For the Heber Springs Water System the Heber Springs Water Department will be the inspector for outside the city limits and the City Inspector is over inside the city limits inspections. Water Department rates are $15.00 per trip and $55.00 for new homes.
Note: The person doing the plumbing must be present during all of the inspections.
You may schedule an inspection by calling (501) 362-
Note #2: Again, all water and/or sewer drain and vent plumbing (major repair, additions, and new construction) must be inspected by licensed inspectors of the Arkansas Department of Health. (See 106.1 and 107.1 Arkansas State Plumbing Code) a homeowner may do the work at his home where he is living; but he must do the work himself and it must pass inspection. We recommend that you get a copy of the Arkansas State Plumbing Code from the Arkansas Department of Health if you elect to do your work.
|Guide to New Water Service|
|New Customer Information|